my sugoi

Review – Ohitorisama

Leave a comment

  • Title: おひとりさま / Ohitorisama
  • Genre: Romantic Comedy
  • Episodes: 10
  • Release: 2009

Cast:

  • Akiyama Satomi – Mizuki Alisa (CA to Oyobi)
  • Kamisaka Sinichi – Koike Teppei (Shibatora, Mada Minu Chichi e, Haha e)
  • Sawai Kimika – Matsushita Nao (Good Job)
  • Tajima Yoshie – Maya Miki (Shibatora, Buzzer Beat, Zettai Kareshi)
  • Nikaido Hitoshi – Nakamura Shunsuke (Hancho, Zettai Kareshi)

Storyline
33-year-old Akiyama Satomi is a history teacher at the prestigious all-girls high school she once attended. She has earned the nickname “ohitorisama” (meaning “one person”) for her perfectionism and capability to handle any work by herself. At the same time, the name also refers to her lack of romance. One day, a young man named Shinichi arrives at the school as a temporary instructor. He’s 10 years younger than Satomi, has only worked part-time jobs, and has neither money nor status. Although the other female teachers and students find him cute, he is completely not Satomi’s type… or is he? Will love blossom between this unlikely pair?  – Tokyograph

Ratings:



Why Ohitorisama is just okay …..

1) I actually finished watching it even though the plot is not that entertaining, exciting or even memorable. I supposed some of its sweet, cute and funny scenes were the ones that kept me going but I can’t remember much of them now.

May I kiss you? (blush blush)

2) Another reason to watch is Nakamura Shunsuke. FYI – He is the guy who acted as Hiro Mizushima’s brother in Zettai Kareshi. I just went all nutty when I saw him in ep5 and waited patiently for him to appear again in ep9.  If I were Akiyama-sensei, I’d choose him… darn, is she blind or what?!

Another attentmpt from persistent Kimika to Seal it with a Kiss

3) In addition, I believe Ohitorisama is saved by Matsushita Nao’s character – Kimika-sensei. She kinda spice things up otherwise Ohitorisama would be a bore without her. She may looks very gentle and sweet, but in love she is desperately persistent in her pursuit for Kamisaka-sensei. I see her as a better villain in Ohitorisama as opposed to the other teacher (below) whom I thought would be the villain in this drama.


Why it’s not Love……..

Let's recite our lines quicky and finish this drama!

1) I’m sure that Kamisaka-sensei would like a strong and older woman as he grew up without a mom. However, I’m just not convinced that Kamisaka-sensei and Akiyama-sensei are in love with each other. As shallow as I might sound but they simply don’t look good with each other! Kamisaka small built made Akiyama looks like a giant! Though at times the script dialogue is funny and all that, but in my eyes, they simply lack the chemistry. They look awkward. Their awkwardness is not that awareness or conscious with each other kinda awkwardness but more like painful awkward to me. They’re just not believable.

2) I don’t bloody understand why can’t the teachers date each other?! It’s understandable if it’s a student-teacher relationship. I find it really lame as if there is no fresh idea to create something more solid, ya know..

3) Another reason there is no love for me in this drama is that Kamisaka-sensei still does not know that the Principal is his mom. I shuddered to think there might be a sequel or special for this. Plus, it’s also bizarre that Kamisaka-sensei have never ever seen the photo of his mom or even know her name at all?! This irritates me to no end..

4) Overall, totally lacking in comparison to other older woman-younger man theme drama. At least Kame’s Suppli and Matsujun’s Kimi Wa Petto are memorable and entertaining.

Conclusion
Ohitorisama is sweet, cute and sometimes funny. However,  there is nothing special about it. Its reused formula focusing on young man and older woman relationship, is pale in comparison to other dramas like Suppli, Kimi Wa Petto or Anego.

In short, a watchable drama if you have nothing else to do.

Leave a Reply

